@alwayscurious @chris @jangray For (2), you don't even put up a crash reporting dialog unless the user previously, explicitly, opted into crash reporting in the preferences.
Doing so risks misclicks, child/partner/guest at computer not knowing what to click and clicking submit, etc.
So there is no need to temporarily hold crash reporting data unless the user has already opted in to reporting.