GNU social JP
  • FAQ
  • Login
GNU social JPは日本のGNU socialサーバーです。
Usage/ToS/admin/test/Pleroma FE
  • Public

    • Public
    • Network
    • Groups
    • Featured
    • Popular
    • People

Embed Notice

HTML Code

Corresponding Notice

  1. Embed this notice
    Harry Sintonen (harrysintonen@infosec.exchange)'s status on Saturday, 23-May-2026 08:25:10 JSTHarry SintonenHarry Sintonen

    #Signalapp doesn't actually delete messages when they're deleted (either manually or by automation). The message deletion is written to Write-ahead Log, and the data is only truly deleted once Signal is restarted or threshold of 1000 pages is reached. For macOS Signal application, extra complication arises from the fact that the signal message database can be backed up before the database consolidation occurs. Large amount of the supposedly already deleted messages could be recovered from the device or backups.

    This concerns use cases where deleting messages actually getting removed in timely manner is of high importance and recovery of the deleted messages could lead to grave consequences.

    TL;DR: If you don't care about deleted messages being actually deleted you don't need to worry.

    Full advisory at: https://sintonen.fi/advisories/signal-deleted-but-not-forgotten.txt

    #fulldisclosure #infosec #cybersecurity

    In conversationabout 3 months ago from infosec.exchangepermalink

    Attachments



    1. Invalid filename.
  • Help
  • About
  • FAQ
  • TOS
  • Privacy
  • Source
  • Version
  • Contact

GNU social JP is a social network, courtesy of GNU social JP管理人. It runs on GNU social, version 2.0.2-dev, available under the GNU Affero General Public License.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 All GNU social JP content and data are available under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license.